Pine Ridge, South Dakota.

Has there ever been a moment in your life where you think, “how did I get here?”

I’m trying to find words that would sound smooth and savvy, but none compare to the fact that God has paved every little step for me to be where I am: Pine Ridge, South Dakota. Some mornings on my bus route to pick up kids I sit in silence, observing the land, housing, and am blown away that He knows my heart enough to plan what would be most fulfilling for my heart to know Him more.

For those wondering what I’m doing, I’ll give a quick description before going any further.

For the next month or so I’ll be on the reservation, located in the Bad Lands, living with the Hadden Family (Matt + Amanda + 3 adorable kids) and two other missionary families. I got here June 2. During my time here I’m meeting different teams each week who are running a VBS for kids on the reservation (ages 6-18) who choose to come. Chanku Waste Ranch is the property where I’m living and interning. Each week a new team comes in from all over the country and I get the privilege of running full speed alongside them, helping where I am needed during camp, and also helping the Hadden’s with whatever they need. My bus route begins at 7:30 am where anywhere from 25-60 kids get on my bus. We bring them back to camp, where these kids are met by love, grace, and compassion. And yes, all of those things are totally possible through water balloon fights, crafts, cotton candy, and small group times. My day is packed with camp until about 4:45, when I’m coming home to the ranch for some time with the team visiting or tagging along to local adventures (like Sheeps Mountain // the rodeo).

I am learning so much about God, myself, and life this Summer.

One quick thing I’ll share is aspects of prayer I’m learning about through Matt’s sermons at Sharps Baptist. I’ve been convicted over my hearts position in prayer, and am learning more than anything that verbally calling out to God is consistently affirming my heart to return to God.

Psalm 116:7 “Return to your rest, my soul, for the Lord has been good to you.”

Here are some pictures from the past month! Some have captions, if you wanna know more about what you’re seeing.

 

Thanks for reading!

-Carmen.

Leave a Reply

