No confidence in flesh.

Day 3.
Philippines 3:7-14 (NIV)
“But whatever were gains to me now I consider loss for the sake of Christ. What is more, I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake  I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ-the righteousness that comes from God on the basis of faith. I want to know Christ-yes, to know the power of his resurrection and participation in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, and so, somehow, attaining to the resurrection from the dead.”
Ahhhh, insert synonyms of being in complete awe of God here! I am so thankful to serve the God I do, who shows me how life is found in the gospel daily! I want to shout, but you wouldn’t hear it on the other end of the screen, so those of you who know me well..imagine my happy dance and the sounds of excitement, facial expressions, and lots of hand motions showing you how much this trip is opening my eyes to the beautiful God we serve!
This post is lengthy, so if you’re here for photo’s, they are posted below. However, I encourage you to be encouraged through what God is doing here by reading the next few paragraphs..

As I stated yesterday, we went into Little Africa today to gift hope through the ability to provide water filters. As we gathered with the community to explain what we were doing, there was much uncertainty that fell upon the people surrounding. As a country, much less a community who has no access to clean water, they were skeptical, but honestly. .I would have been too. After Michael’s demonstration of the installation process, he drank a glass of water from the filthy water bucket, after it was filtered. The people cheered and clapped, for we all knew this moment was ground breaking. Thanks to everyone who purchased a water filter for Project 300, we were able to install water filters for each home in the community today, which was well over 300 filters.
Quick insert, project 300 was a vision Michael Whal had. When he discovered we, as a church, could partner with Filter of Hope to provide clean water, he jumped on board and moved forward. Back in October we launched this ministry with the goal of selling 300 filters by December. Well, God showed up & the same Sunday we launched we had over 400 filters sold. The door was opened and we moved forward with an unplanned & unexpected trip to Haiti. Originally the trip was supposed to be in spring, which there still will be. However, if we have filters provided, we wanted to waste as little time as possible and begin getting into the communities. &&& to add on this, crossroads now has an established trust and bond with little Africa because we installed water wells/pumps and have now returned to give clean water.
image

We split into a few different groups so that we could visit each home, donating water buckets and filter kits, walking through the process with them on how to connect the filters, and presenting the gospel if the person was interested. The second home my team, (Michael Whal, Johnny Taylor, and Kim Tidwell), went to visit is a highlight of my day, maybe even my trip so far. An order gentleman invited us into his little hut, and before we were all in, he dropped to his knees saying he desired to know the God we served. He desired to be a believer of Jesus Christ. As we prayed with this man, mt heart was overwhelmed with the thought that although we spoke different languages, I now had a new brother in Christ that will one day stand in the throne room of God in complete awe of who God is, because of the decision he made today.
As we continued our journey through different huts, my team became completely inspired by what God was allowing us to do here in Haiti.
As our team met up from distribution, we soon had a crowd of children we were playing with. As I chased kids around, I was reminded of the universal gift of love. No language or poverty could ever create any barrier too great to extend love. I received so much love, as well as my whole team, from a joyful group of children.
As the time passed we found ourselves standing in front of the village with a group of about 30 people and our teammate Robb Billue presenting the gospel. And by the holy spirit guiding Rob in confidence, almost every person standing there accepted Jesus Christ as their personal savior today. I’m, once again, overwhelmed by what God is doing and how He Is using us out here.
The rest of the day was filled with laughter, community, astonishment at God’s beautiful nature, a few head bumps on our tap tap truck, and an incredible dinner, followed by chocolate chip cookies.(Courtney Thomas, if you’re reading this..I was thinking of you & I cannot wait to cook some Tollhouse when I get home!)
So, overall today..I saw what a beautiful God we serve. And just as you date your spouse to keep the love alive, you should spend time with your father who yearns for you to know Him.
This trip isn’t about me or my team. Its not even about the water filters. This trip is about seeing the glory of God shine through such a broken and poverty struck country. But don’t be fooled, He is here. Jesus is evident from the moment I wake up, to the moment I fall asleep, not only here, but also there, as you sit behind a screen scrolling to my next sentence. Spend intimate moments with our awesome God tonight as you have the few quite hours of night or early morning hours. & just as Paul spoke in Philippines 3, its all for the glory of God.

Until tomorrow, here is a glimpse of today, captured behind my lense.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Water pump provided by crossroads!
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

As we started putting project 300 on the ground today, I found a Haitian guy wearing the same shirt!
image

image

Restrooms!
image

image

image

image

image

image

Water wells installed within the past few months
image

image

The second house man who dropped to his knees in awe of God
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Thanks for catching up with us!

Leave a Reply

