Haiti: Day 2.

As I begin to write tonight I would like to thank you for the following: your prayers for strength and your encouragement. I’m so overwhelmed by the love I feel and have felt today, so again I say thank you.

Today was our first full day and I couldn’t have asked for a better way to spend it. This morning we went to an orphanage that New Life (the orphanage we are staying at) used to be partnered with. As we arrived we found ourselves being directed to enter the church service many of the children from the orphanage were attending. As we entered there were these girls singing so beautifully in Creole and I soon found myself in complete awe of their beautiful unity. I could feel God’s presence in the small room/building/class room were were attending service in.
Not long after we all found ourselves adventuring around the orphanage, learning the building. (Photos are posted below.) As heart breaking as this was, I was reminded that these children all had somewhere to sleep, and they have each other. There are so many children here dying of starvation because their parents don’t have the funds to provide. Or some have Daniels story, which was a little boy April held today. A few days ago the orphanage heard a noise happening in a trash can out of their gate-which they discovered to be a baby that was abandoned by a parent who didn’t have a way to provide for this 6 day old baby. Luckily, Daniel was found, but the unfortunate thing is there are many children like this left undiscovered.
Afterwards we came back to New Life for a quick lunch before the big concert tonight a community put on for us because 4 of our teammates are celebrating thier birthdays on this trip. During these few hours we had to relax I spent time with my mentor Michael Wahl, Geno, and Johnny Taylor (the birthday boy!!) Discussing visions of what we see happening between now and summer of 2015. Let me tell you, if you are a part of Crossroads, you dont want to miss out on what is coming up. As we continue to prepare for these transitions and progressions in our partnership continue to pray for God’s will to prevail and not our own.
After 3 we headed off to Pastor Lionel’s house for a big dinner and then to the church he pastor’s for a concert. During this time, we gave a motorcycle away to a pastor we are partnered with who will be helping us with the upkeep on the water filters while we aren’t here!
It was incredible being around children and young teens who sang familiar songs and utilized so many instruments. From the clarinet, to the trombone, to drums, and an electric guitar we heard it all tonight. We were so welcomed by the people and it was an amazing feeling to have. I sat beside a beautiful little 9 girl who held my hand throughout almost the whole service and I’d be lying if I wrote that I didn’t want to leave that moment with her tonight.
I’m just having so many walls torn down here already. God truly is an amazing God, who truly has no boundaries. You may question how I could say that after being around so much poverty, so I’ll tell you its strictly Him. He is most glorified when we are not only satisfied in Him, but also when we love those in need around us. Not only in Haiti or Nicaragua, but also in our own class or work place.

I’m loving every moment while I’m here and cannot wait to see what happens tomorrow. So far, tomorrow is our day to go to Lil Africa and begin to explain and distribute water filters..

Until then, pray for us!

image

image

image

image

image

The orphanage we went to visit today
image

The kitchen for the orphanage
image

Baby Daniel that was found in the trash can & 6 years old with April
image

Boys bedroom
image

Michael explaining hoe to clean the water filter we gave the orphanage
image

BIRTHDAY GUY!!! & a sweet girl
image

Janie & I!
image

image

image

Look out of the tap tap
image

Dinner!
image

Giving away a motorcycle to a local pastor to continue his ministry today.
image

He was pretty happy!
image

The sweet little girl I sat beside
image

image

Johnny and Geno!

5 thoughts on “Haiti: Day 2.

  1. Great Job Carmen in capturing some of the moments. I know its hard to get what you are feeling and seeing on paper. there are no words really to describe it. Love you and praying for all of you.

  2. Praying for you down here in Mexico Beach, Florida! It’s thrilling to keep up with you each day and see how God is working through all of you. God bless!

  3. wONDERFUL WORDS Carmen I am sitting here reading your words and remembering those feeling that i felt when we visited in OCt. I too felt grace, love hope and an undeniable presence of Gods love in a foreign place. It is really cool to hear familiar songs sung by those children! Keep your heart open and you will be amazed at the power of love.love you.

Leave a Reply

