38 hours.

38 hours. 2, 280 minutes. 136, 800 seconds. This is how long it has taken us to be tucked in our rooms in Wisconsin. Our journey is just beginning. I cannot express the relationships that have been built with my teammates in this short amount of time. I was asked today, by a church plant we attended, how many years we had known each other. The person was shocked to hear a few days.
We are a team of 12 students and 2 men of God leading our team. Each day I will introduce to you a new teammate.
Our road trip began early Saturday morning. There was no timidity or awkwardness. Just a group of college students incredibly excited to have the opportunity to spread the gospel in different states over the next few weeks. (Especially my teammate Caleb, who feels called to plant and pastor a church.) Each individual has their own sense of humor that is so unique. If you know anything about me, you know I enjoy a good laugh. Relationships and bond are coming as a peace of cake. Our bus ride yesterday was about 11 hours filled with conversation, being coached by one of our leaders Chad,  sleep, food, sleep, and stopping at Metropolis ←home to superman and the daily planet. We had a smashing time! Our night ended and began in Illinois. The hotel was nice and we got to stop at Redeemer church. We learned such a truth that ive never thought of: “if you know what you’ve been rescued from-you’ll appreciate the rescue more.” I was so taken back by that! I mean, really think about that.
After Redeemer, I had an amazing conversation with a 24 year old lady about singleness. I cannot tell you how encouraged I left that conversation. Its insane to think of how God sets things up exactly when we need to be reminded of truth. Our team grabbed lunch, toured University of Illinois, talked with Chet (lead pastor of Redeemer church), and headed to Wisconsin. Chad took us to Culvers for dinner, and we headed back to where we are staying for devotion and testimony. Russ shared from Romans 8 on how the Holy Spirit pleads on our behalf when we don’t have words, and Lindsay shared amazing things God has done in her life.
I’m excited for this trip and how God will show us a new side of Him. We are patiently waiting for how He will use us tomorrow on campus. Be in prayer for us the next two weeks friends!

Here are photos from the trip:

image

Meet Becca. She is who I’m introducing today! She grew up in Carrollton, so we have a lot of mutual friends, yet we never met prior to this trip. I’m so thankful for her calm, yet crazy spirit. She and I clicked the first time we met. I’m so encouraged by everything God has done in her life. She goes to Shorter, enjoys long walks on the beach, hiking, pitch perfect,  and… well my point is, she’s fabulous. I’m so thankful God placed her on this trip because I needed someone in my life who overflows joy. That’s Becca. I’m so encouraged to see someone still getting more excited about the gospel as each day passes, like Becca expresses.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Prayer walking over Illinois

image

image

Prayer before church

image

image

image

image

image

Oldest corn field in the U.S.

image

image

Gnome who travels with us.

image

Silly Game thanks to Russ. We all made fools of ourselves.

image

image

Custard ftw!

image

Our devotion!

image

Bedroom for the week!

image
image
Oh yeah, here is Metropolis

Be in prayer for us this week!!

Leave a Reply

