Seek First.

Seek what? Seek advice from others? Seek confirmation from a friend? Matthew 6:33 is so clear about seeking: “Seek the Kingdom of God above all else and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.”

I want so badly to live by that truth. Oftentimes I, and many of us, make it so much harder than it needs to be. Seeking the Lord first is a choice. Seeking Him first is willingness to say that above anyone or anything in this whole universe you choose Him. Above all else. 

This isn’t a place to vent, but to encourage any of you who may be reading this and going through similar things as I am. So, I’m going to share my heart and season with you, transparently trusting you’ll read this with a heart of understanding.

Seeking God doesn’t come easy for me. For most of my life 19 years of life I wasn’t walking with the Lord at all. My junior year in high school I dedicated all I am to Him. I’ve fallen hard many times, but through those falls, God has never left me astray. Instead He has taken me, in full brokenness, and just reminded me how valued I am. You would think that through His actions of compassion and mercy, I would desire to seek Him above all else. But it’s a struggle. Most of my life I sought council of others. Advice about guys, venting about family issues, decisions on a job, schools, etc. I always go to a friend or family member with a heavy load. What I mean is this: If I need someone’s advice, I rarely seek God first in that. I always go to someone who is close to me, explain the situation, and hope that they have a solution. Often times their answers are not enough, so I seek another person’s advice, and so on until I have a multitude of answers and am left with even more confusion on a situation. Instead what I should have done is sought out God first.  Because what happens is I run to someone and expect them to have answers I am looking for. Ultimately no one comforts or gives confirmation the way God does. You see, we as humans aren’t created to take on someone’s load. We cannot sustain what answers they are looking for. 

Have you ever had a friend who has come to you for advice, and it’s a complete overload? Oftentimes that friend would be me. I’m not saying it’s bad to have good council in your life, I have many people I do life with and seek advice from. But there is a difference between just doing life together, and throwing all your burdens onto them. Instead, we should all start seeking Him first. After all, He is the only one who can fully take what we are going through, comprehend it, and comfort us. 

So here is my prayer for all of us:

God, I pray we have the desire to seek you first. We know all your ways are good, we know your burden is light. We don’t deserve any of the mercy you give us, we don’t even deserve to come to you with all we carry, but you allow us to. God I pray you transform our hearts to seeking you more. God I want to know you are beside us in every situation, not only because your word says so, but because we are seeking you through everything. Let us be more sensitive to the Holy Spirit. God, give us direction today. Thank for all you have done and will do.

In your sons holy and precious name we pray, amen. 

Leave a Reply

